Meditation

For those of  you who were not able to join us for Monday Meditations or at worship last evening at Koinonia, here is a short meditation to use this week as we move into Holy Week.  

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and put a new and right spirit within me”

Psalm 51:10

Take a moment to read the words slowly, allowing them to sink deeply into your soul.

Breathing in: pray these words:
create in me a clean heart

Breathing out pray these words:
put a new and right spirit within me

use this breath prayer through the week

Meditation Prayer;
“Create in Me a Clean Heart” by Joyce Rupp

+ create in me a clean heart, open and receptive, so that  I may embrace the many ways you choose to visit my life.

+create in me a clean heart, cleared of the refuse of old battles with others and deadly opposition to myself.

+create in me a clean heart purified through the daily disruptions and the life encounters that take me beyond my grasping control and ego-centeredness.

+create in me a clean heart free from the clutter of cultural enticements, so that I can enjoy the beauty of life’s simple things and relish the gifts I easily take for granted.

+ create in me a clean heart, bathed from harsh thoughts, shame, and perfectionistic tendencies, warmly welcoming others with the embrace of nonjudgement.

+create in me a clean heart brushed free of frantic busyness, so that I will have time to dwell with you in the listening space of solitude and silence.

+create in me a clean heart, rinsed of the residue of false messages about my identity, enabling my inner goodness and light to shine through all I am and do.

+create in me a clean heart, cleansed of all anxiety and lack of trust, restoring in me an enduring faith in your abiding presence and unconditional love.

+create in me a clean heart, scrubbed clean of racism and prejudice, drawing me toward all as my sisters and brothers.

+create in me a clean heart, washed with your mercy and strengthened by your love, helping me move beyond whatever keeps me from union with you.

Create in me a clean heart God. Dust off the unmindful activity  that constantly collects there. De-clutter my heart from harsh judgements and negativity. Wash away my resistance to working through difficult relationships. Rinse off my un-loving so the beauty of my generous and kind heart can shine forth. Remove whatever keeps me from followoing in your compassionate footsteps.
Amen

(taken from Out of the Ordinary c2000 by Joyce Rupp. Used by permission of Ave Maria Press, All rights reserved)

Leave a Reply

